Key milestones

Our networks are closely monitored, and millions of dollars are invested each year to make sure they are safe and reliable.

These investments are made within a regulatory framework set by the Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC) and regulated by the Australian Energy Regulator (AER).

As electricity distribution businesses, CitiPower, Powercor and United Energy are regulated according to five-year regulatory periods. This process is referred to as the revenue determination or regulatory reset, and is governed by the National Electricity Rules and administered by the AER.

The AER assesses our regulatory proposals and makes a decision on our revenues and the network charges during the regulatory control period.

Key milestones in the regulatory reset process for Victorian electricity networks are as follows:

  • Submission of the Proposals and Overview Papers to the AER by 31 January 2020
  • AER to publish preliminary determinations by September 2020
  • Revised Proposals submitted to the AER by December 2020
  • AER to publish the substitute determination by April 2021.

You can learn more about the regulatory reset process by visiting the AER website.